Swiss Open’s list of players is now completed

Stan Wawrinka

GSTAAD, June 17, 2015 (press relesase)

The list of players for the Swiss Open has been released and some of the best tennis sportsmen will come face to face in barely 40 days time during the tournament in Gstaad. The Tournament Management is delighted to present a list of players for the 2015 tournament including four players from the top 30:

This year’s winner of the French Open, Stan Wawrinka (ATP 4), is the favourite to win the Swiss Open Gstaad 2015. The Swiss will face, amongst others, Feliciano Lopez (ESP, ATP 14), who was the last player to have won the tournament against him during the Swiss Open, David Goffin (BEL, ATP 15), who has improved his ATP ranking, Dominic Thiem (AUT, ATP 29), Pablo Andujar (ESP, ATP 36), winner of the Swiss Open in 2014 and Thomaz Bellucci (BRA, ATP 40). As a reiteration of the motto of the tournament, “today’s champions” will compete against the (still) unknown “stars of tomorrow”.

Alongside the elite tennis players of today, former stars will honour the Swiss Open Gstaad with their presence on the centre court to celebrate the centenary of the tournament, including legends such as Ilie Nastase, Roy Emerson, Wojtek Fibak and Alex Corretja, as well as Heinz Günthardt and Marc Rosset will offer visitors the chance to enjoy a special event on Sunday 26 July.

Through a photo exhibition, which will be presented along the Gstaad promenade, as well as in the village, people will be able to take a journey through time during the week-long tournament so as to dive into the century-old history of the event. And as a grand slam finish to celebrations of the centenary of the tournament, the Patrouille Swiss will provide a spectacular show in the sky above Gstaad on the Sunday of the final.

List of players entering the tournament:

Wawrinka, Stan SUI (ATP 4)
Lopez, Feliciano ESP (ATP 14)
Goffin, David BEL (ATP 15)
Thiem, Dominic AUT (ATP 29)
Andujar, Pablo ESP (ATP 36 – Gstaad winner in 2014)
Bellucci, Thomaz BRA (ATP 40 – Gstaad winner in 2009/2012)
Sousa, Joao POR (ATP 44)
Giraldo, Santiago COL (ATP 62)
Carreno Busta, Pablo ESP (ATP 66)
Granollers, Marcel ESP (ATP 69 – Gstaad winner in 2011)
Youzhny, Mikhail RUS (ATP 71 – Gstaad winner in 2013
Haase, Robin NED (ATP 73)
Souza, Joao BRA (ATP 77)
Ilhan, Marsel TUR (ATP 78)
Delbonis, Federico ARG (ATP 80)
Istomin, Denis UZB (ATP 83)
Lajovic, Dusan SRB (ATP 84)
Lorenzi, Paolo ITA (ATP 89)
Kavcic, Blaz SLO (ATP 91)