FFT And SuperSport Extend Partnership On Roland Garros Broadcasting Rights

Roland Garros 2016

FFT PRESS RELEASE, January 25, 2017

The French Tennis Federation (FFT) and SuperSport, broadcaster of Roland Garros throughout sub-Saharan Africa, are delighted to announce that their existing agreement, which ran up to the 2017 tournament, has been now extended to cover the 2018-2021 period.

The new agreement, which includes both TV and digital rights to the Grand Slam tournament, means that SuperSport will continue to provide extensive coverage of the tournament in 54 countries*.

SuperSport is Africa’s leading sports broadcaster, producing and broadcasting national and international sporting fixtures for its subscribers. The SuperSport group offers a bouquet of 37 channels, many of them in HD, featuring a wide range of sports from the most popular to the lesser known.

“We are extremely happy to be continuing our partnership with SuperSport. This will guarantee us continued maximum exposure for Roland Garros across the whole of sub-Saharan Africa and cement the tournament’s reputation in this part of the world,” announced Jérémy Botton, FFT’s CEO.

SuperSport CEO Gideon Khobane had this to say: “SuperSport has come a long way with the television rights to Roland-Garros, a jewel in the crown of world tennis. We are proud and delighted to extend our partnership, which will establish SuperSport even more firmly as one of the world’s leading broadcasters of sports programs.”

* Countries covered by SuperSport: South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cap Verde, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda, Central African Republic, Reunion, Rwanda, Sao Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Socotra, Saint Helena and Ascension, Swaziland, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia, Chad, Djibouti, Mauritania, Somalia and Sudan.