Diaz Acosta Wins Uruguay Open

Facundo Diaz Acosta (photo: Uruguay Open)


Facundo Diaz Acosta is the champion of the 22nd edition of the Uruguay Open. The $130,000 ATP Challenger Tour clay-court event was held at the Carrasco Lawn Tennis Club in Montevideo, Uruguay.

The No. 4 seed from Argentina benefited from the retirement of Thiago Monteiro of Brazil in Sunday’s singles final. Diaz Acosta was leading 6-3, 4-3 after one hour and 37 minutes when Monteiro was forced to stop playing due to a right hand injury.

By winning his fifth ATP Challenger Tour career title, his fourth of the season after Savannah, United States, Oeiras, Portugal and Milan, Italy, the World No. 113 earned $17,650 in prize money as well as 100 ATP Ranking points.


Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an


Ein Beitrag geteilt von Uruguay Open (@uruguayopen)