Etcheverry To Face Altmaier In Uruguay Open Semis

Tomas Martin Etcheverry (photo: Gastón Montero – Uruguay Open)


World No. 85 Tomas Martin Etcheverry leads the semi-finals line-up of the Uruguay Open. The No. 2 seed of the $53,120 ATP Challenger Tour clay-court event hosted by the Carrasco Lawn Tennis Club in Montevideo defeated fellow Argentine Facundo Diaz Acosta 7-5, 6-4 in Friday’s quarterfinal.

Etcheverry, who is bidding for his fourth Challenger career crown, the second of the season following his triumph in Concepcion in Chile in March, saved all six break point he faced and converted two of his own seven break-point chances to prevail in two hours and 16 minutes.

The 23-year-old La Plata native will next take on red-hot Daniel Altmaier, who extended his winning streak on the South American swing to 13 matches. The third-seeded German, a champion of two consecutive Challenger titles in Lima, Peru as well as in Guayaquil, Ecaudor in the past two weeks, edged past Nicolas Kicker of Argentina 6-4, 1-6, 6-3 in two hours and 38 minutes.

In the top half of the draw, Franco Agamenone of Italy rallied from a set down to overcome No. 4 seed Facundo Bagnis from Argentina 3-6, 6-1, 6-2. The eighth-seeded Italian won 56 per cent of the total points played to seal victory in two hours and three minutes.

Up next for Agamenone will be Argentine alternate Genaro Alberto Olivieri, a 6-1, 6-4 winner over his compatriot Marco Trungelliti. The encounter lasted one hour and 11 minutes.


Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an


Ein Beitrag geteilt von Uruguay Open (@uruguayopen)

Friday Results

Singles – Quarterfinals
Tomas Martín Etcheverry (Argentina, 2) def. Facundo Díaz Acosta (Argentina) 75 64
Daniel Altmaier (Germany, 3) def. Nicolás Kicker (Argentina) 64 16 63
Franco Agamenone (Italy, 8) def. Facundo Bagnis (Argentina, 4) 36 61 62
Genaro Olivieri (Argentina) def. Marco Trungelliti (Argentina) 61 64

Doubles – Semi-finals
Karol Drzewiecki/Piotr Matuszewski (Poland, 4) a Guido Andreozzi/Guillermo Duran (Argentina, 1) 64 06 10-5
Facundo Diaz Acosta/Luis Martínez (Argentina/Venezuela, 3) a Guido Pella/Camilo Ugo Carabelli (Argentina) 61 62