Sock Soars Into Savannah Challenger Second Round

Jack Sock (photo: Jacob Stuckey/Savannah Challenger)


Eight years after reaching the final, US-American Jack Sock made a winning return to the $53,120 Savannah Challenger, defeating Mikael Torpegaard of Denmark 6-3, 6-7(3), 6-4 on Tuesday.

In their third career meeting, Sock took to the court in his third clay-court tournament of the year. He grabbed the early break over Torpegaard and was able to hold his lead and close out the opening set with a score of 6-3.

In the second set, Torpegaard and the No. 4 seed from the United States stayed neck-and-neck, trading late breaks before ultimately heading to a tiebreak. Torpegaard was able to dig deep, taking the tie-break 7-3 to force a third.

In the final set, the two stayed on serve, but it would ultimately be Sock who would grab the break, booking a second-round spot with a final score of 6-3, 6-7(3), 6-4 after two hours and 47 minutes.

Next up, the 29-year-old Nebraska native will face Sumit Nagal for the first time in his career. The 24-year-old Indian is playing in Savannah for the second time after reaching the semi-finals here in 2019.

In 2014, Sock reached the Savannah Challenger final before falling to Nick Kyrgios in three sets. In the eight years since playing in the Hostess City of the South, Sock has gone on to win an ATP Masters 1000 title in singles and been ranked as high as No. 8 in the world. He has also won four Grand Slams in doubles and two Olympic medals.

Also advancing to the second round is No. 1 seed Tomas Martin Etcheverry of Argentina and US-American JJ Wolf. 2017 champion Tennys Sandgren was upset by Canadian Alexis Galarneau, while No. 2 seed Stefan Kozlov from the United States went out to Brazilian qualifier Jose Pereira.

Second-round action gets underway on Wednesday at 11:00 am local time. Tickets are available for $15 and complimentary member passes for Court 6 and 15 are available for Landings Club members.


Singles – First Round
[1] T. Etcheverry (ARG) d [Q] A. Mayo (USA) 64 61
[Q] J. Pereira (BRA) d [2] S. Kozlov (USA) 61 60
[4] J. Sock (USA) d M. Torpegaard (DEN) 63 67(3) 64
[Q] G. Nanda (USA) d [5] T. Barrios Vera (CHI) 62 36 76(5)
[6] J. Wolf (USA) d R. Ramanathan (IND) 76(4) 60
A. Galarneau (CAN) d [7] T. Sandgren (USA) 63 61
[Q] A. Fils (FRA) d N. Kuhn (GER) 46 61 63
C. Harrison (USA) d [Q] E. Clark (USA) 61 63
J. Kubler (AUS) d M. Mmoh (USA) 63 11 Retired
Z. Zhang (CHN) d [Q] S. Kirchheimer (USA) 75 63
S. Nagal (IND) d T. Wu (TPE) 62 75
G. Brouwer (NED) d [WC] N. Rubin (USA) 62 61

Doubles – First Round
[1] L. Saville (AUS) / J. Smith (AUS) d A. Chandrasekar (IND) / N. Prashanth (IND) 64 63
J. Cerretani (USA) / R. Roelofse (RSA) d E. Clark (USA) / O. O’Hoisin (IRL) 64 62