ATP Masters Series Continues In Miami With Federer Returning

Roger Federer returns to the courts (photo: Miami Open)

MIAMI, March 22, 2016

Since 1985 the best players have been entertaining huge crowds at the Miami Open presented by Itaú, a combined ATP World Tour and WTA Tour tournament played in one of the most glamorous cities in the world. Tim Mayotte and Martina Navratilova were the very first champions and since then the likes of Ivan Lendl, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer have lifted the men’s trophy. One man stand above all others, however, and that is Andre Agassi, who still holds the record for the most singles titles won with six trophies between 1990 and 2003.

For the first time since 2012, the 96-man-draw features every player of the top 10 and 18 of the top 20. Defending champion and world number one Novak Djokovic eyes on his sixth Miami crown at the tournament’s 32nd edition, owning a 36-5 career record to capture four titles in the past five years. Djokovic, who receives a first round bye, awaits the winner of the match between Kyle Edmund and Jiri Vesely.

Second seed Andy Murray, who has a 27-8 record in Miami, reached three finals in the past four years. He lifted the trophy in 2013 and finished runner-up last year. The Scot will face either Borna Coric or Denis Istomin in his opening match.

Roger Federer (photo: Miami Open)

Roger Federer (photo: Miami Open)

World number three Roger Federer makes his return to the ATP World Tour, after undergoing knee injury at the beginning of February. The 34-year-old Swiss has a 44-13 record in Florida, making his 16th appearance. Federer will either play Juan Martin Del Potro or Guido Pella in his comeback match.

Fourth seed Stan Wawrinka will take on the winner of the encounter between Andrey Kuznetsov and a qualifier. The tournament’s number five Rafael Nadal is making his 12th appearance, being a four time runner-up in Miami. This is the event, the Spaniard hasn’t won with the most attempts. Nadal starts his title bid against Damir Dzmhur or Leonardo Mayer. Main draw starts on Wednesday.