Murray And Tsonga Replace Medvedev And Sinner In Rotterdam

Andy Murray

ROTTERDAM, February 3, 2022 (Press Release)

Former champions Andy Murray and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga replace Daniil Medvedev and Jannik Sinner in the main draw of the 49th ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament. Both players will receive a wild card from the organization of the ATP 500 tournament that starts in Rotterdam next Saturday.

Tournament director Richard Krajicek: “We were still hopeful that Daniil Medvedev would come back to his earlier statement that he did not want to play another tournament so soon after the lost Australian Open final, but unfortunately he has not lost that feeling yet. Fortunately, we were able to secure another Grand Slam winner at the last minute with Andy Murray.”

Daniil Medvedev: “Unfortunately I will not play in Rotterdam this year. I just got back from Australia and am not ready to compete. Rotterdam is one of the favorite stops on the Tour and Richard does a great job for the players there. I look forward to coming back in the future.”

Jannik Sinner, who cannot travel to Rotterdam due to Corona, will be replaced by Tsonga. The winner of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in 2017 is on his way back after a long period of injuries.

Krajicek: “Due to these cancellations and the earlier withdrawal of Bautista Agut and Coric, Botic van de Zandschulp’s wildcard was released. We can therefore now give it to Tsonga. He has always been one of the favorites of the Rotterdam fans.”