History Made As Djokovic Secures Record-Breaking Seventh Year-End No. 1

Novak Djokovic

PONTE VEDRA, November 6, 2021 (ATP Press Release)

Novak Djokovic has made history again. The Serbian today secured the year-end No. 1 FedEx ATP Ranking for a record seventh time, eclipsing the mark he previously shared with American Pete Sampras.By defeating Poland’s Hubert Hurkacz in Saturday’s Rolex Paris Masters semi-finals, Djokovic breaks a tie with Sampras, who completed six straight year-end No. 1 finishes between 1993-98. Djokovic has achieved the feat in seven of the past 11 seasons (also 2011-12, ’14-15, ’18 and ’20).“Just proud and extremely happy. Obviously that was one of the biggest goals and it’s always one of the biggest goals, to try to be No. 1 and end the season as No. 1,” Djokovic said. “To do it for the record seventh time and surpass my childhood idol and role model, Pete, is incredible. Very grateful, very blessed to be in this position.”

Andrea Gaudenzi, ATP Chairman, said: “Finishing the season as No. 1 is a monumental achievement. To do it seven times, in this incredible era of men’s professional tennis, is hard to describe. Novak deserves huge credit and recognition for continuing to redefine excellence in our sport, year after year. Congratulations to him and his team on this outstanding new milestone.”The 34-year-old, who extends his record as the oldest man to finish year-end No. 1, came within one victory of completing the Grand Slam in 2021. He went 27-1 at the four major championships with trophies at the Australian Open (d. Medvedev), Roland Garros (d. Tsitsipas) and Wimbledon (d. Berrettini). His bid to match the feat of Don Budge (1938) and Rod Laver (1962 and 1969) ended in the US Open final (l. to Medvedev).It marks the 17th time in the past 18 seasons (barring Andy Murray in 2016) that the year-end No. 1 has been held by Djokovic, Rafael Nadal (five times: 2008, ’10, ’13, ’17, ’19) or Roger Federer (also five times: 2004-07, ’09).Djokovic eclipsed Federer’s all-time mark of 310 weeks at No. 1 on 8 March and will finish 2021 having held the top ranking for 348 weeks (as of 22 November). The Serbian’s fifth stint in the top spot began the week of 3 February 2020.In addition to his three major titles, Djokovic also triumphed on home soil at the Belgrade Open in May. He became the first man since Laver to win each major twice at Roland Garros in June and earned a sixth Wimbledon title in July, drawing him level on a record 20 majors with Federer and Nadal. Djokovic’s career trophy haul stands at 85 (fifth all-time).Djokovic will attempt to secure a record-equalling sixth Nitto ATP Finals trophy at the Pala Alpitour in Turin from 14-21 November. He will be making his 14th appearance at the season finale, where he will officially receive the year-end ATP Tour No. 1 trophy presented by FedEx.ATP TOUR YEAR-END NO. 1s   Year    Player2021    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2020    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2019    Rafael Nadal (Spain)2018    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2017    Rafael Nadal (Spain)2016    Andy Murray (Great Britain)2015    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2014    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2013    Rafael Nadal (Spain)2012    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2011    Novak Djokovic (Serbia)2010    Rafael Nadal (Spain)2009    Roger Federer (Switzerland)2008    Rafael Nadal (Spain)2007    Roger Federer (Switzerland)2006    Roger Federer (Switzerland)2005    Roger Federer (Switzerland)2004    Roger Federer (Switzerland)2003    Andy Roddick (U.S.)2002    Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)2001    Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)2000    Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)1999    Andre Agassi (U.S.)1998    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1997    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1996    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1995    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1994    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1993    Pete Sampras (U.S.)1992    Jim Courier (U.S.)1991    Stefan Edberg (Sweden)1990    Stefan Edberg (Sweden)1989    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)1988    Mats Wilander (Sweden)1987    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)1986    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)1985    Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)1984    John McEnroe (U.S.)1983    John McEnroe (U.S.)1982    John McEnroe (U.S.)1981    John McEnroe (U.S.)1980    Bjorn Borg (Sweden)1979    Bjorn Borg (Sweden)1978    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)1977    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)1976    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)1975    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)1974    Jimmy Connors (U.S.)1973    Ilie Nastase (Romania)