Martinez Takes Copa Sevilla Challenger Title

Pedro Martinez (photo: Copa Sevilla)

SEVILLA/STARNBERG, September 12, 2021

Pedro Martinez is the champion of the 58th edition of the Copa Sevilla ATP Challenger Tour tournament held at the Real Club de Tenis Betis. The No. 2 seed emerged victorious from Saturday’s all-Spanish singles final with Tenerife native and No. 3 seed Roberto Carballes Baena, winning 6-4, 6-1.

Under the lights on Pista Central, Carballes Baena had the better start of an even affair and took the first game after 12 minutes of play. Martinez became the more dominant player the longer the match lasted. The 24-year-old from Valencia gained the first of his six breaks in the seventh game of the opening set. Martinez didn’t look back from then on to seal victory in one hour and 51 minutes.

By lifting his third ATP Challenger career trophy, his first title win since the Andalucia Open in Marbella last year, World No. 75 Martinez pocketed on home soil €9,200 in prize money as well as 90 ATP Ranking points.

30 years on the ATP Challenger Tour

Held on the unique yellow clay, the Copa Sevilla celebrated this week its 30th anniversary on the ATP Challenger Tour, making it one of the longest-running events on the circuit.

“The tournament management and the members of the Real Club de Tenis Betis are very proud of this achievement, which is only been achieved by a few tournaments,” said director Santiago Perez, quoted by the ATP Challenger Tour website. “This tournament is part of the history of Spanish tennis, one of the oldest on the circuit. It is an especially beloved tournament in the international calendar, which makes us proud and gives us the strength to continue improving.

“It is the only tournament in the world that is played on ‘albero’, or yellow clay. There are still players who are surprised when they see the albero for the first time and always leave here fond of its people and the homely, family atmosphere. We are dedicated to making the player feel special during their stay in Sevilla.”

Back-to-back 17-year-old champions Casper Ruud was crowned in 2016 and Felix Auger-Aliassime one year later. Kimmer Coppejans took the title in 2018 and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina clinched the trophy in 2019.

Last year’s edition had to be cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.