Sparkasse Remains Title Sponsor In Braunschweig Until 2020

Christoph Schulz and Harald Tenzer (photo: Jochen Hotop)

BRAUNSCHWEIG, December 11, 2015

The ATP Challenger event in Braunschweig extended its contract with the title sponsor Sparkasse for another five years. The tournament’s official title “Sparkassen Open” will remain from 2016 to 2020.

The 23rd edition is going to take place from 2 to 9 July 2016 at the venue of the Tennis and Hockey Club Braunschweig (BTHC).  “Our event needs continuity, our partners need planning security. It is important for us to look forward in order to secure the future of the Sparkassen Open. We have sponsored the tournament since 2001 and tradition is also commitment,” told Christoph Schulz, CEO of the Sparkassen in Braunschweig about the tournament, which was awarded “ATP Challenger of the year 2015”.

Receiving this award is a milestone in the tournament’s history. That our title sponsor extends its contract shortly after we had received this honour, is a great signal for the fans, the players and our team,” added Harald Tenzer, organizer of the event and CEO of the Brunswiek Marketing GmbH.

Facts about the ATP Challenger Tour

353 ATP Challenger events were won by players, who made it into the top 10. 16 players, who were ranked world number 1, lifted trophies at 29 ATP Challengers: Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Andre Agassi, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Carlos Moya and Thomas Muster amongst others. Alexander Zverev, who claimed the title in Braunschweig in 2014 when he was 17-years old, received the “ATP Star of Tomorrow”- award the same year. About 150 ATP Challengers in about 40 countries are going to take place in 2016. “Hot spot” will be Europe with about 72 events.