This Week On The ATP Tour – CW07

ABN Amro World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam

STARNBERG, February 10, 2020

Daniil Medvedev and Stefanos Tsitsipas headline a packed field at the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam. The opening ATP 500 event of the season boasts 10 of the Top 20 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings and many fascinating first-round matches.

Medvedev opens against Montpellier finalist Vasek Pospisil, while Tsitsipas resumes his budding rivalry with Hubert Hurkacz. Seventh seed Andrey Rublev opens his bid for a third tour-level title of the season against Nikoloz Basilashvili and eighth seed Denis Shapovalov faces US Open semi-finalist Grigor Dimitrov.

Defending champion Gael Monfils arrives fresh from lifting his third Montpellier trophy. David Goffin, Fabio Fognini and Roberto Bautista Agut are also seeded at the Rotterdam Ahoy.

Isner leads New York Open line-up

American No. 1 John Isner leads the field at the New York Open, where he reached the semi-finals last year. The top seed has won at least one ATP Tour title in nine of the past 10 years.

But the 34-year-old faces a tough field, which includes three former champions: Milos Raonic (2011-’13), Kevin Anderson (2018) and defending champion Reilly Opelka.

Two players who competed in the 2019 Next Gen ATP Finals, Ugo Humbert and Miomir Kecmanovic, are seeded fourth and sixth, respectively. Home favourite Tennys Sandgren, who fell short against Roger Federer in five sets in the Australian Open quarter-finals, is the fifth seed.

Clay-court swing continues in Argentina

Diego Schwartzman and Guido Pella, the top two Argentines in the FedEx ATP Rankings, lead the way at the Argentina Open in Buenos Aires. It is the second consecutive week that the ATP Cup teammates have been the top two seeds at an ATP 250 event.

Serbian Dusan Lajovic, who made a clay-court ATP Masters 1000 final in Monte-Carlo last year, is the third seed. He reached the quarter-finals in Buenos Aires in 2016. Fourth seed Borna Coric, who has climbed as high as World No. 12, is making his tournament debut.

Defending champion Marco Cecchinato, who beat Schwartzman in last year’s final, is also in the field. An Argentine will try to lift the trophy for the first time since 2008 (David Nalbandian).