Dan Bisa Appointed To Tennis Australia Board

Tennis Australia

TA Press Release, September 20, 2019

Canberra businessman Dan Bisa is set to join the Tennis Australia Board after four years as Tennis ACT President. 

“I’m delighted to welcome Dan to our Board,” Tennis Australia Chair Jayne Hrdlicka said today. 

“During his seven years on the Tennis ACT Board, the landscape of the sport has changed significantly in the ACT with the opening of the $10.5 million redevelopment of the Canberra Tennis Centre and installation of the innovative online booking and payment program at 21 venues. These changes in the ACT have led to increased participation and an expanded events schedule.

“Dan will be a great addition to our team with more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality and property development industries along with his extensive knowledge of tennis participation and pathway strategies. 

Bisa said he was looking forward to joining Tennis Australia. 

“As a lifelong tennis lover and father to two budding junior players, I have a deep and multi-layered connection with the game,” Bisa said. 

“In my time on the ACT Board, we have opened a new premier tennis facility which consistently showcases all levels of tennis. Through well thought out and executed strategies, we’ve secured the financial future of the organisation and built a platform that allows us to expand our tennis footprint into the future. I look forward to bringing this experience to the Tennis Australia Board.”

Bisa joins the Board following the retirement of former Queensland tennis administrator Ken Laffey. 

“Ken has been involved in tennis for most of his life – running the gamut from player to coach to commercial centre operator and ultimately to administration of the sport. Ken was the President of Tennis Queensland for five years followed by his five years of service on our Board,” Hrdlicka said.

“We are very grateful for the investment he has made across the sport and wish him all the best for the future.” 

Bisa joins Jayne Hrdlicka, Graham Bradley AMDiane Grady AMGreg HutchinsonElizabeth MinoguePeter Robertson and Janice van Reyk on the Board.