Delbonis makes winning start in Rome

Top-seed Federico Delbonis advanced to second round (photo: youtennis)

ROME, September 29, 2015

The players of the main draw’s top half at the BFD Energy Challenger stepped into action on Day 2 in Rome.

First seed Federico Delbonis remained untroubled in his opening match against Italian qualifier Lorenzo Giustino. The world number 67 from Argentina won 78% of his first service points and hit six aces to advance after 66 minutes.

Delbonis will face Giulio Di Meo another local, who battled through the qualifying. The 33-year-old Italian beat Greece teenager Stefanos Tsitsipas, winning 6-4, 6-4 in one hour and 15 minutes.

Third seed Dusan Lajovic defeated Spanish veteran Ruben Ramirez-Hidalgo, winning 6-4, 7-6. The world number 85 from Serbia saved four of the five break points he faced and converted three of his own to seal victory in one hour and 17 minutes.

Lajovic will take on Matteo Viola next. The 28-year-old Italian knocked out Roberto Carballés-Baena, who claimed his maiden Challenger title in Kenitra two weeks ago, winning 3-6, 7-6, 6-1. The battle lasted two hours and 35 minutes.

The tournament’s number six Iῆigo Cervantes dismissed Matteo Berrettini, gaining a 6-3, 6-4 victory. The 25-year-old Spaniard saved all of the three break points he faced and capitalized on two of his own to prevail in73 minutes to facing Filippo Volandri next, who cruised past Miljan Zekic in only 46 minutes, winning 6-2, 6-0..

Albert Montaῆes and Javier Martí set an all-Spanish-affair in the second round. The latter defeated Italian wild card Gianluca Mager, winning 7-5, 5-7, 6-2. Eighth favourite Montaῆes also had to go the distance downing Alessandro Giannessi in one hour and 54 minutes 2-6, 6-3, 6-2.

Uladzimir Ignatik caused the upset of the day, winning 6-2, 6-4 against seventh seed Taro Daniel. The world number 207 from Belarus fired eight aces and saved all five break points to close the encounter after one hour and 23 minutes facing the winner of the match between Pere Riba and Flavio Cipolla next.