Edmund falls in opening round at Tiburon Challenger

Marcos Giron lost in final round of the qualifying to Dennis Nevolo (photo: Rustam Tahir)

TIBURON, September 29, 2015

Dennis Nevolo and Marcos Giron kept spectators guessing at the Tiburon Challenger on Monday, in a game that stretched to 3 hours and 27 minutes and saw Nevolo prevail. It was an amazing comeback for Nevolo.

“He seemed out of the match and hurting physically in the third set, but that’s what great players do. They deal with adversity and are able to persevere,” observed Tournament Director Brendan Curry. “Another example is our number-one seed Denis Kudla, this afternoon coming back from a set and 5-2 down to win 6-0 in the third set against Connor Smith,” he added. “The big upset today was our number two seed Kyle Edmond crashing out to an in-form Brydan Klein, who put on a clinical display in his 6-1, 6-4 victory.”

Tuesday promises to be an action-packed day, with a late-afternoon match featuring Dustin Brown vs. qualifier Sekou Bangoura. Other highlights are 3rd-seed Tim Smyczek vs James McGee, 5th-seed Ryan Harrison vs. Deiton Baughman, 6th-seed Bjorn Frantangelo vs. wild card Chase Buchanan and 7th-seed Blaz Rola vs. the talented youngster Frances Tiafoe.

On Tuesday, several players will also visit Bel Aire and Reed Elementary schools in Tiburon, to share their tennis experience and answer students’ questions.

Men’s Singles – First Round

[1] Dennis Kudla (USA) def. Connor Smith, (USA), 4-6, 7-6(2), 6-0

Dimitar Kutrovsky (BUL) def. Peter Polansky, (CAN), 6-4, 6-3

[8] Jared Donaldson (USA) def. Darian King (BAR), 6-1, 6-4

Quentin Halys (FRA) def. Tennys Sandgren, (USA), 6-3, 6-1

[2] Brydan Klein (GBR) def. Kyle Edmund (GBR), 6-4, 6-1

Men’s Doubles – First Round

Sekou Bangoura (USA)/Marek Michalicka (CZE) def. [WC] Andre Dome (USA)/Eric Johnson (USA), (6-4, 6-4)

Men’s Qualifying Singles – Final Round

[8] Sekou Bangoura (USA) def. [8] Andre Dome (USA), 6-3, 6-3

[7] Dennis Nevolo (USA) def. Marcos Giron (USA), 7-6(3), 5-7, 7-5

[3] Nicolas Meister (USA) def. [6] Jose Statham (NZL), 7-6(4), 5-7, 6-4

[5] Henri Laaksonen (SUI) def. [WC] Tom Fawcett (USA), 6-4, 6-2

Men’s Qualifying Doubles – Final Round

Adrien Bossel (SUI)/Quentin Halys (FRA) def. [WC] John Paul Fruttero (USA)/Ben McLachlan (NZL), 4-6, 6-3, 10-7