Fever-Tree Championships – Andy Murray To Return … In Doubles

Andy Murray (photo: Florian Heer)

LONDON, June 3, 2019 (Press Release)

Andy Murray will return to the match court for the first time since January after signing up to compete in the doubles tournament at the Fever-Tree Championships, an LTA summer grass court event, held 17th-23rd June.

Murray, winner of a record five singles titles at The Queen’s Club, underwent hip resurfacing surgery following his Australian Open exit and has been building his fitness since then.

“I am really excited to return to the match court for the first time since my surgery,” said Murray. “Queen’s has always been a special place for me and it’s the perfect place to return. It’s where I won my first ATP match, my first title in Britain and on grass, and it’s been my most successful tournament overall. I’m not yet ready to return to the singles court, but I’ve been pain-free for a few months now. I’ve made good progress in training and on the practice court, and this is the next step for me as I try to return to the tour.”

Murray will play with 2017 singles champion Feliciano Lopez, who won the 2016 French Open doubles crown with Marc Lopez.

“Andy Murray is our greatest champion, and we are thrilled that he is going to make his return from injury at the Fever-Tree Championships,” said Tournament Director Stephen Farrow, who is also the LTA’s Director of International Events and Professional Game. “The reaction when he stepped out on our centre court to play singles last year after so long away was electric, and it will be the same when he plays doubles this year. Everyone knows what he has been through, he is an inspiration to everyone that cares about tennis in Britain, and to have him playing at Queen’s alongside our 2017 champion Feliciano Lopez is going to be really special.” 

They will join an all-star list of doubles teams, and some notable singles players such as Marin Cilic, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Alex De Minaur.

The entry list is headed by Mate Pavic and Bruno Soares, who won the title with Jamie Murray in 2017. The elder of the Murray brothers will take the court with compatriot Neal Skupski in a new-look partnership.

The singles field will be led by defending champion Marin Cilic, British No.1 Kyle Edmund and Top 10 players Stefanos Tsitsipas,  Kevin Anderson and Juan Martin del Potro, with Nick Kyrgios, Milos Raonic and Grigor Dimitrov also part of the line-up.

Doubles Entry List

  1. Mate Pavic / Bruno Soares
  2. Juan Sebastian Cabal / Robert Farah
  3. Nicolas Mahut / Edouard Roger-Vasselin
  4. Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan
  5. Henri Kontinen / John Peers
  6. Jamie Murray / Neal Skupski
  7. Marin Cilic / Ivan Dodig
  8. Rajeev Ram / Joe Salisbury
  9. Felix Auger-Aliassime / Alex De Minaur
  10. Andy Murray / Feliciano Lopez


  1. Juan Martin del Potro / Grigor Dimitrov
  2. Rohan Bopanna / Denis Shapovalov
  3. Oliver Marach / Jurgen Melter
  4. Marco Cecchinato / Marton Fucsovics
  5. Nick Kyrgios / Frances Tiafoe
  6. Kyle Edmund / Ken Skupski

A world-class field of teams will also compete for the doubles title at The Queen’s Club, the Fever-Tree Wheelchair Tennis Championships will be held, and the inaugural Paul Hutchins Trophy – an 18-and-under match between Great Britain and the United States – will be staged.

The Fever-Tree Championships is owned and organised by the LTA, and was shortlisted for Event of the Year at the BT Sport Industry Awards. The event was recently voted ATP-500 Tournament of the Year by the players on the ATP Tour. The Roll of Honour includes Murray, Nadal, Rod Laver, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Boris Becker and Pete Sampras.

The Fever-Tree Championships will be broadcast live throughout by the BBC and Prime Video in the UK.

Limited tickets are available, starting from £50 – http://po.st/QueensTickets2019.

Singles Entry List

1 Kevin Anderson
2 Juan Martin Del Potro
3 Stefanos Tsitsipas
4 Marin Cilic
5 Daniil Medvedev
6 Milos Raonic
7 Marco Cecchinato
8 Denis Shapovalov
9 Kyle Edmund
10 Diego Schwartzman
11 Alex de Minaur
12 Lucas Pouille
13 Gilles Simon
14 Felix Auger-Aliassime
15 Frances Tiafoe
16 Cristian Garin
17 Stan Wawrinka
18 Nick Kyrgios
19 Martin Fucsovics
20 Fernando Verdasco
21 Mikhail Kukushkin
22 Cameron Norrie
23 Grigor Dimitrov

WC Dan Evans