Shane Upsets Granollers To Reach Quarterfinals At Champaign Challenger

Ryan Shane (photo: Illinois Athletics

CHAMPAIGN, November 15, 2018

In a day of upsets, only three seeded players or teams remain in the singles main draw of the $75,000 JSM Challenger of Champaign-Urbana.

US-American qualifier Ryan Shane knocked out the tournament’s No. 1 Marcel Granollers of Spain, 6-3, 6-4. The 24-year-old from Virginia saved all four break points he faced, converting two of his own 10 chances to advance to the quarterfinals after one hour and nine minutes. Shane, who is currently ranked World No. 577, will next take on No. 8 seeded Australian John-Patrick Smith.

No. 3 seed Peter Polansky from Canada was upset by Blaz Rola of Slovenia in two straight sets, 6-3, 6-4. Rola won 56 per cent of the total points played to secure victory in one hour and 14 minutes. The 28-year-old from Pluj will next face US-American Sekou Bangoura.

Seeded players remaining in the singles main draw are No. 4 seed Reilly Opelka from the United States, who defeated Japan’s Kaichi Uchida, 6-7(3), 6-4, 7-6(3) and John-Patrick Smith, who topped Takanyi Garanganga from Zimbabwe 6-3, 6-4. US-American Christopher Banks advanced to the final eight with a walkover victory over Finland’s Harri Heliovaara.

Wednesday, November 14 – RESULTS  

Singles – Second Round

(Q) Ryan Shane (USA) def. (1) Marcel Granollers (ESP) 6-3, 6-4
Blaz Rola (SLO) def. (3) Peter Polansky (CAN) 6-3, 6-4
(4) Reilly Opelka (USA) def. Kaichi Uchida (JPN) 6-7(3), 6-4, 7-6(3)
(7) Christopher Eubanks (USA) def. Harri Heliovaara (FIN) Walkover
(8) John-Patrick Smith (AUS) def. Takanyi Garanganga (ZIM) 6-3, 6-4
Sekou Bangoura (USA) def. (LL) Alafia Ayeni (USA) 6-7(3), 6-2, 6-3
Tak Kuhnn Wang (FRA) def. Mikael Ymer (SWE) 6-1, 6-4
Tommy Paul (USA) def. Jared Hiltzik (USA) 7-6(3), 6-4

Doubles – Quarterfinals Round
(4) Peter Polansky (CAN) / Adil Shamasdin (CAN) def. JC Aragone (USA) / Kevin King (USA) 6-4, 6-4

Doubles – First Round
Alexander Ritschard (USA) / Ryan Shane (USA) def. [3] Toshihide Matsui (JPN) / Frederik Nielsen (DEN) 6-1, 6-4
Timur Khabibulin (KAZ) / Denis Yevseyev (KAZ) def. Alex Lawson (USA) / Hunter Reese (USA) 7-6(8), 6-4
Hans Hach Verdugo (MEX) / Luis David Martinez (VEN) def. Henri Heliovaara (FIN) / Henri Laaksonen (SUI) Walkover