Sharon Fichman Wins First Doubles Title Since 2016 At Tevlin Challenger

Sharon Fichman and Maria Sanchez (photo: Peter Figura)

TORONTO, November 4, 2018 (Press Release)

Two Canadians were in search of important victories on Saturday at the Tevlin Challenger. Sanctioned by the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the tournament offers $60,000 USD in prize money and will be held from October 29 to November 4 at the Aviva Centre in Toronto.

For the second consecutive week, Sharon Fichman (Toronto, ON) was competing for the doubles crown at a tournament. Her last title dates back to 2016, when she was crowned champion in Jackson, Mississippi. In Saturday’ final, she was playing alongside a familiar partner, Maria Sanchez of the United States. The two wasted no time in taking control of the match, outplaying their opponents Maja Chwalinska of Poland and Elitsa Kostova of Bulgaria right from the start. After just over an hour of play, Fichman and Sanchez were crowned doubles champions by a score of 6-0, 6-4. This is the pair’s third title together, one of which was won in Toronto in 2015.

Bianca Andreescu (Mississauga, ON) was looking to reach the final of the Tevlin Challenger for the first time, having previously reached the quarter-finals in 2016 and 2017. She was facing Quirine Lemoine of the Netherlands. The two had met exactly a week ago in the semi-finals at the Saguenay Challenger, but Andreescu had to withdraw in the second set due to injury. On Saturday, the Canadian got off to a good start, needing under half an hour to take the opening set. Her opponent stepped up her level of play in the second, forcing a third and decisive set. Andreescu found herself unable to come back from an early deficit, falling short of an appearance in the final by a score of 3-6, 6-4, 6-2.

For her part, Lemoine is into her second final in consecutive weeks. She will face the tournament’s top seed Kateryna Kozlova of the Ukraine, who defeating Jessika Ponchet of France 7-6(3), 2-6, 6-3. The final is scheduled to begin at noon ET.