Federer Returns To MercedesCup

Roger Federer retturns to Stuttgart

STUTTGART, May 2, 2018

Roger Federer will start his grass-court season at the MercedesCup in Stuttgart this year. This was announced by the organizers of the ATP 250 event on Wednesday. The tournament will be held from 9 to 17 June 2018.

The Swiss Maestro will return to the venue of the TC Weissenhof for the third consecutive time. As in 2017, Federer is skipping the entire clay-court swing and returns to the ATP World Tour in June.

“The atmosphere at the TC Weissenhof is wonderful. You can immediately sense that it is a lively venue. The tournament is very well organized and the spectators are sharing their passion for tennis during the matches. Of course, my expectations are high on grass, and I’m looking forward to playing again in Stuttgart this year,” the 97-times ATP tournament winner commented.

“It is a great honor and a tribute to Roger Federer, the greatest tennis player of all time, to play at the MercedesCup for the third time. In the past two years he has ensured a packed center court at the Weissenhof. Roger Federer’s participation enhances this year’s MercedesCup status even more. To offer the stars perfect conditions to prepare for the Wimbledon highlight, we have completely rebuilt four grass courts for this year’s edition of the tournament,” tournament director Edwin Weindorfer explained.

Federer, who was voted world sportsman of the year for the fifth time last year, will face strong competition at the ATP-event with a total prize money of €729,340. 2016 Wimbledon runner-up Milos Raonic will make his first appearance in Stuttgart this coming June. Defending champion Lucas Pouille of France will be joined by a couple of the young guns such as Hyeon Chung, Nick Kyrgios, Denis Shapovalov and Taylor Fritz. Last year’s finalist Feliciano López, 2006 champion David Ferrer and Gael Monfils will represent the veterans of the circuit.

And there is still a strong contingent of German players: Philipp Kohlschreiber, Peter Gojowczyk, Mischa Zverev and Jan-Lennard Struff will also compete in the grass-court event.

For tickets, please visit the tournament’s official website.

Entry List:

1 FEDERER, Roger SUI 2 
2 POUILLE, Lucas FRA 18 
3 RAONIC, Milos CAN 20 
4 CHUNG, Hyeon KOR 22 
5 KYRGIOS, Nick AUS 24 
6 LOPEZ, Feliciano ESP 30 
7 FERRER, David ESP 33 
9 MONFILS, Gael FRA 40 
10 SHAPOVALOV, Denis CAN 42 
11 PAIRE, Benoit FRA 49 
12 GOJOWCZYK, Peter GER 52 
13 ZVEREV, Mischa GER 54 
14 CECCHINATO, Marco ITA 59 
15 PELLA, Guido ARG 60 
16 FUCSOVICS, Marton HUN 61 
17 STRUFF, Jan-Lennard GER 62 
18 FRITZ, Taylor USA 66 
19 MILLMAN, John AUS 69