Halle Awaits World-Class Doubles Field

Alexander Zverev and Andrey Rublev (photo: TERRA WORTMANN OPEN/Mathias Schulz


Half a dozen top-ten players are vying for the singles crown at the 31st TERRA WORTMANN OPEN scheduled for June 15 to 23, 2024. Now, it’s confirmed: in just under three weeks, world-class stars will also be battling for the coveted doubles trophy in Halle, Westphalia. “Our fans can look forward to an excellent field. This doubles competition is a real highlight,” says Tournament Director Ralf Weber.

The entry list is highlighted by four top-ten singles players, led by the Polish-Italian combination of Hubert Hurkacz and Jannik Sinner, followed by the duo of Andrey Rublev and Alexander Zverev. Completing the top trio in the doubles competition is the German pair Kevin Krawietz and Tim Puetz.

“I think everyone at the top of the entry list has a real chance to win the tournament,” says Weber. The Italian tandem of Simone Bolelli and Andrea Vavassori, who lost the 2023 final at the 30th TERRA WORTMANN OPEN to Marcelo Melo and John Peers, are also strong contenders, having reached the final at the Australian Open at the start of the 2024 season.

Special attention will be on the pairing of Alexander Bublik and Arthur Fils. Tennis magician Bublik won the singles title at Germany’s most important grass-court tournament in 2023, while Fils is considered one of the biggest upcoming talents on the circuit. Tallon Griekspoor and Jan-Lennard Struff also have high ambitions.

German doubles specialists Constantin Frantzen and Hendrik Jebens, who received a wild card into the ATP 500 event, will make their debut in Halle. The pair climbed from outside the top 500 to the top 70 doubles teams in the world in 2023, winning six titles on the ATP Challenger Tour and reaching an ATP Tour final.

“Constantin and Hendrik have made an extraordinary development over the past year. We are excited to see them compete at the Terra Wortmann Open,” says Weber.

Doubles Entry List

Hubert Hurkacz (POL)/Jannik Sinner (ITA)

Andrey Rublev/Alexander Zverev (GER)

Kevin Krawietz (GER)/Tim Pütz (GER)

Sander Gille (BEL)/Joran Vliegen (BEL)

Simone Bolelli (ITA)/Andrea Vavassori (ITA)

Nathaniel Lammons (USA)/Jackson Withrow (USA)

Alexander Bublik (KAZ)/Arthur Fils (FRA)

Hugo Nys (MON)/Jan Zielinski (POL)

Lloyd Glasspool (GBR)/Jean-Julien Rojer (NED)

Sadio Doumbia (FRA)/Fabien Reboul (FRA)

Tallon Griekspoor (NED)/Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)

Ariel Behar (URU)/Adam Pavlasek (CZE)

Tomas Machac (CZE)/ Zhizhen Zhang (CHN)

Constantin Frantzen (GER)/Hendrik Jebens (GER)