2023 WTA Tournament Award Winners Revealed

Indian Wells Stadium (photo: Brigitte Urban)

ST. PETERSBURG, FL, December  15, 2023 (WTA Press Release)

The WTA has today announced the winners of the 2023 WTA Tournament Awards, bringing an end to Awards Week which has seen the stand-out performers of the season from across the Hologic WTA Tour celebrated for their success.The WTA Tournament of the Year Award winners are voted on by the players and recognize the excellence of the staff and organization, dedicated fans and wider support to the sport and its athletes.The WTA Tournament Awards are broken down into three categories, reflecting the different levels of events, with the winners as follows:

WTA 1000: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
The BNP Paribas Open sweeps the honor for a record-extending tenth successive year and 14th time overall, with the Indian Wells Tennis Garden being recognized for creating an environment where players are able to perform at their best. Elena Rybakina, who was crowned champion at the event in 2023, commented: “Indian Wells will always be a special place for me as it’s where I won my first WTA 1000 title earlier this year. The tournament venue and facilities are incredible, and it certainly lives up to its name of being called Tennis Paradise. I can’t wait to return in 2024.”

WTA 500: Credit One Charleston Open
The Credit One Charleston Open is recognized in the WTA Tournament of the Year Awards for the second year in a row at the WTA 500 level, having picked up it’s debut award in 2022. Defending champion Ons Jabeur praised the event, saying: “I have been lucky enough to play the Credit One Charleston Open five times in my career, and every occasion I come to the tournament I am made to feel incredibly welcome by the whole team there. Winning the title there in 2023 was a key moment for me in the season, which was made even more special as the tournament went above and beyond to make the whole week a great success.”

WTA 250: Transylvania Open (Cluj-Napoca)
In only its third year on the calendar, the Transylvania Open is awarded the WTA 250 Tournament of the Year for a second consecutive season. Jodie Burrage won the doubles title with Jil Teichmann in October and spoke very highly of their tournament experience. “I won my first ever WTA title at the Transylvania Open this year and overall me and Jill had such a great week in Cluj-Napoca,” said Burrage. “The tournament works extra hard to make sure the players are really well looked after as well as making sure we have lots of fun!”

Earlier this week the winners of the Player and Coach Awards were announced and were as follows:

Player of the Year – Iga Swiatek
Doubles Team of the Year – Storm Hunter and Elise Mertens
Most Improved Player of the Year – Zheng Qinwen
Newcomer of the Year – Mirra Andreeva
Comeback Player of the Year – Elina Svitolina
Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award – Ons Jabeur
Peachy Kellmeyer Player Service Award – Ons Jabeur
Jerry Diamond ACES Award – Jessica Pegula
Coach of the Year – Tomasz Wiktorowski

The winner of the WTA 125 Tournament of the Year Award will be announced in January.