Sidharth Rawat Advances To Second Round At ITF Davangere Open

Sidharth Rawat (photo: Deepthi Indukuri/KSLTA)

DAVANGERE, October 24, 2023 (Press Release)

The promising Sidharth Rawat of India made a confident start to his campaign in the ITF Davangere Open Men’s World Tennis Tour which kicked off at the prestigious Davangere Tennis Association courts here on Tuesday. The fifth seed scored a facile 6-1, 6-4 win over Suraj Prabodh to enter the second round of the US $15,000 event.

On a day where only two singles matches took place, Karan Singh demonstrated his prowess on the court by triumphing over another local lad Rishi Reddy with an impressive scoreline of 6-1, 6-4.

Earlier, the event was inaugurated by Deputy Commissioner Dr VM Venkatesh, Davangere, Air Marshal HB Rajaram, PVSM and Superintendent of Police Uma Prashant, Assistant Commissioner Durgashree, Corporation Commissioner Renuka, ITF Tournament Supervisor Puneeth Gupta, District Youth Services & Sports Assistant Director Jaylakshmi amongst others.

Some notable results from the doubles first-round action included a 95-minute battle between the second seeded pair of Bogdan Bobrov and Nick Chappell of the United States who were made to toil by the all-Indian team of Rishab Agarwal and Nitin Kumar Sinha before prevailing 6-7(4), 6-1, 11-9 while the top seeded duo of Purav Raja and Ramkumar Ramanathan overcame a late fightback by the Indo-Malaysian combination of Dev Javia and Mitsuki Wei Kang Leong 6-3, 7-6 (4) to enter the quarterfinals.


Singles Round of 32

5-Sidharth Rawat bt Suraj R Prabodh 6-1, 6-4; Karan Singh bt Rishi Reddy 6-1, 6-4;

Doubles (Round of 16)

Oges Theyjo Jaya Prakash/Madhwin Kamath bt Chirag Duhan/Adil Kalyanpur 7-5, 4-6, 10-5; 2-Bogdan Bobrov/Nick Chappell (USA) bt Rishab Agarwal/Nitin Kumar Sinha 6-7 (4), 6-1, 11-9; 1-Purav Raja/Ramkumar Ramanathan bt Dev Javia/Mitsuki Wei Kang Leong (MAS) 6-3, 7-6 (4); 3-Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta/Manish Sureshkumar bt Luke Sorensen (AUS)/Matthew Woerndle (AUS) 7-5, 6-2; WC-Raghav Jaisinghani /Rishi Reddy bt Tushar Madan/Atharva Sharma 6-7 (4), 6-4, 10-7; Ishaque Eqbal/Faisal Qamar bt Parth Aggarwal/Sidharth Rawat 6-2, 7-6 (4); 4-Siddhant Banthia/Vishnu Vardhan bt Digvijay Pratap Singh/Karan Singh 3-1 (retired); WC-Manish Ganesh/Suraj R Prabodh bt Kabir Hans/Jagmeet Singh 7-6 (4), 6-4.