Erste Bank Open Entry List Released

Ben Shelton (photo: Erste Bank Open/ Paul Zimmer)

VIENNA/STARNBERG, September 28, 2023

Five Top 10 players headline this year’s Erste Bank Open entry list. This was announced by the organizers of the ATP Tour 500 tournament, which will be held from October 21 to 29 at the Stadthalle in Vienna, Austria.

The field is led by World No. 3 and defending champion Daniil Medvedev. The 27-year-old from Russia will be joined by Stefanos Tsitsipas of Greece, his compatriot Andrey Rublev, Jannik Sinner from Italy, Alexander Zverev of Germany, US-Americans Frances Tiafoe and Tommy Paul as well as Russian Karen Khachanov.

Ben Shelton will make his debut in Vienna. The 20-year-old from the United States made headlines at the US Open with his serves. The son of former professional player Bryan Shelton fired his serves over the net at speeds of up to 239 kilometers per hour, setting a speed record at the last Grand Slam tournament of the year.

Shelton seamlessly joins the ranks of future stars who have played in Vienna when they were on the brink of reaching the absolute elite in the tennis world. The same applies to the 19-year-old Frenchman Arthur Fils, who represented Team Europe at the Laver Cup last weekend and will showcase his talent in Vienna this year as well.

The first-round matches at the Erste Bank Open will take place between Monday, October 23, and Wednesday, October 25. Dominic Thiem, who has received a wildcard for his home tournament, is scheduled to make his first appearance on Tuesday, October 24.

For more information and tickets, please visit the tournament’s official website.

Erste Bank Open Vienna Entry List:

1 Daniil Medvedev 3 3
2 Stefanos Tsitsipas 5 5
3 Andrey Rublev 6 6
4 Jannik Sinner 7 7
5 Alexander Zverev 10 10
6 Frances Tiafoe 11 11
7 Tommy Paul 13 13
8 Karen Khachanov 14 14
Cameron Norrie 16 16
Lorenzo Musetti 18 18
Grigor Dimitrov 19 19
Ben Shelton 20 20
Francisco Cerundolo 21 21
Borna Coric 26 26
Jiri Lehecka 29 29
Daniel Evans 33 33
Mackenzie McDonald 39 39
Roman Safiullin 41 41
Arthur Fils 44 44
Alexei Popyrin 45 45
Matteo Berrettini 65 65
Gael Monfils 141 35 (PR)
Pablo Carreno Busta 193 193