Challenger Ciudad De Guayaquil To Return In October

2022 Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil champion Daniel Altmaier (photo: Guayaquil Challenger)

GUAYAQUIL/STARNBERG, September 28, 2023

The ATP has confirmed the date for the XIX Challenger Ciudad de Guayaquil COPA BANCO GUAYAQUIL, an ATP Challenger Tour clay-court event that will offer $80,000 in prize money and 75 ATP Ranking points to the champion. The competition will take place from October 30 to November 5, on the clay courts of the Guayaquil Tenis Club.

Guayaquil, often referred to as the “Pearl of the Pacific,” is Ecuador’s largest and most populous city. Situated on the banks of the Guayas River and the shores of the Pacific Ocean, Guayaquil is not only a major port city but also a vibrant and rapidly growing metropolis that serves as an economic and cultural hub for the country.

The ATP Challenger Tour tournament was first played in 2005 and is the only one in South America to be held for 19 consecutive years, including the challenging year of the pandemic in 2020. This demonstrates the experience and love for tennis from its organizers, tournament director Andrés Gómez and Luis Adrián Morejón.

“We have reached 19 consecutive years with this tournament, a very special Challenger for all of us. We started in 2005 with a lot of enthusiasm to give Guayaquil and the country a tournament it needed. Now, with great pride and excitement, we continue to work to make it better than the previous ones,” said Gómez.

“The players will come with all their energy and professionalism to end their year on a high note and secure their presence in the 2024 Australian Open for many of them. As a player, I have felt that pressure and adrenaline, and it truly is a unique feeling,” added the 1990 Roland Garros champion.

List of Guayaquil Challenger champions:

2005 Marcos Daniel BRA

2006 Sergio Roitman ARG

2007 Nicolás Lapentti ECU

2008 Sergio Roitman ARG

2009 Nicolás Lapentti ECU

2010 Paul Capdeville CHI

2011 Matteo Viola ITA

2012 Leonardo Mayer ARG

2013 Leonardo Mayer ARG

2014 Pablo Cuevas URU

2015 Gastao Elias POR

2016 Nicolás Kicker ARG

2017 Gerald Melzer AUT

2018 Guido Andreozzi ARG

2019 Thiago Seyboth Wild

2020 Francisco Cerúndolo ARG

2021 Alejandro Tabilo CHI

2022 Daniel Altmaier GER